Project

The AIMFREE research project aims at the parallelization of workstations and the implementation of versatility and flexibility in the final assembly of automobiles.
A key aspect of the project is the holistic consideration of all necessary aspects of an agile assembly system. In addition to the agile system itself, this includes the initial system design as well as planning and control. Concrete results will be validated both in real assembly plants of the project partners from the automotive industry and in demonstration factory. In this way, application-oriented research is guaranteed. The joint work of research institutes, system providers and car manufacturers in the consortium ensures that all necessary competences and experience are combined in this project.

The research project is being carried out in nine work packages. Based on methodical and theoretical fundamentals, an automation architecture and a basic data model will be conceptualized first. Next, station technology modules enabling reconfiguration and an overall concept for the automation of vehicle logistics will be developed. At the same time, a software solution and a dynamic control system for intelligent planning and control will be developed. The results obtained will be validated in their entirety and illustrated in a demonstration environment.
The development is being carried out jointly by the Machine Tool Laboratory (WZL) of the RWTH Aachen University as consortium leader of the project, the Fraunhofer Institute for Production Technology (Fraunhofer IPT) and the following industrial partners: Porsche AG, ipolog GmbH, Siemens AG, ELABO GmbH, BÄR Automation GmbH, Pilz GmbH & Co. KG.

Projekt

Das Forschungsprojekt AIMFREE zielt auf die Parallelisierung von Arbeitsstationen sowie die Umsetzung von Wandlungsfähigkeit und Flexibilität in der automobilen Endmontage ab.
Kernaspekt des Projektes ist die ganzheitliche Betrachtung aller notwendigen Aspekte eines agilen Montagesystems. Dies beinhaltet neben dem agilen System an sich ebenso die initiale Systemgestaltung sowie die Planung und Steuerung. Konkrete Ergebnisse werden sowohl in realen Montagewerken der Projektpartner aus der Automobilindustrie als auch in Demonstrationsanlagen validiert. Auf diese Weise wird eine anwendungsnahe Forschung gewährleistet. Die gemeinsame Arbeit von Forschungsinstituten, Systemanbietern und Automobilherstellern im Konsortium stellt die Vereinigung aller notwendigen Kompetenzen und Erfahrungen im Projekt sicher.

Die Bearbeitung des Forschungsprojektes erfolgt in neun Arbeitspaketen. Ausgehend von methodischen und theoretischen Grundlagen werden zuerst eine Automatisierungsarchitektur sowie ein Basis-Datenmodell konzeptioniert. Darauf aufbauend werden Rekonfiguration ermöglichende Stationstechnik-Module und ein Gesamtkonzept zur Automatisierung der Fahrzeuglogistik erarbeitet. Parallel erfolgt die Erarbeitung einer Softwarelösung und eines dynamischen Leitsystems zur intelligenten Planung und Steuerung. Die gewonnenen Ergebnisse werden gesamthaft validiert und in einer Demonstrationsumgebung veranschaulicht.
Die Erarbeitung erfolgt gemeinsam durch das Werkzeugmaschinenlabor (WZL) der RWTH Aachen als Konsortialführer des Projektes, das Fraunhofer-Institut für Produktionstechnologie (Fraunhofer IPT) sowie folgende Industriepartner: Porsche AG, e.GO Mobile AG, ipolog GmbH, Siemens AG, ELABO GmbH, BÄR Automation GmbH, Pilz GmbH & Co. KG.